Evita Goze

ISSP

Posted in photography by evitagoze on September 1, 2010

In the beginning of August I went to the International Summer School of Photography (ISSP) that took a place in Ludza, Latvia. This was my second year there and, the same as in the last year, a very special week in my life I got a lot of inspiration, new ideas and afterthoughts.

Lots of talking and laughing, taking pictures, editing, scanning, printing, swimming in the lake, dancing, not enough sleep, worries, energy, creativity and emotions over the top. Around 70 photographers from all over the world, packed together in the middle of Latvian countryside, around 20 km from Russian border.

It started great – me and my friend Anna went to Ludza by car with photographers Vanessa Winship and George Georgiou together. Those were really nice 4 or more hours we spent talking about our lives and photography. And I should say a huge thank you to Vanessa for finding time to help me with advise during all the week.

This year I took a part in the workshop “True or False?”, led by french artist Veronique Bourgoin. In beginning I wasn’t sure if it was the right place for me, but it turned out to be really interesting and I’m grateful for Veronique’s help with creating my final work.

And we had the most amazing final day with Ivetas and Sashas wedding (they both were my teachers last year).

Below is my final project – a small book about Lana, a girl from Ludza area, that combines my photographs of her and her personal belongings – pictures of her childhood, her mom’s wedding day, drawings, stories etc. She was a great model – patient and trustful, and didn’t mind getting up before 5 o’clock am three mornings in a row even if she would have to go to work that day.

And here you can see me by Anna Novikova for her project “I want”:

Leave a Reply

